{it’s hard work}

Standard

I’ve decided trying to be stong and positive is hard work.  I am finding that I am weary all the time and feel heavy.  I’m tired and just want to sleep in every morning.  I don’t want to stay in bed all day, but I want to delay the start of my days.  I didn’t feel like going to the gym today, but I went because I knew I had to.  I need to keep my body strong to speed up my recovery.  So to the gym I went.  We were loading up our bars for some heavy deadlifts when Coach gave out a shout, “now we are going to load up some weight!”  I instantly thought, what if you are already carrying a bunch of weight.  Right smack, dab on your shoulders.  My workouts have gotten so slow, I’ve added minutes to my time on short workouts. I feel like I can’t move, like my limbs weigh a ton.  I can’t catch my breath (more than usual), like a panic type “can’t catch my breath”.  I feel like I am trying to move through deep mud.  I broke down crying in the middle of a set of deadlifts today (more on that later) and not sure I would have picked it back up had Coach not walked over to push me to keep going.  I finished my set with tears streaming down my face. 

When I first found the lumps in my breast I could go to the gym and get away from my worries for at least one hour in the day.  Because during a CrossFit workout it is pretty near impossible to think about anything else except getting done with the workout.  Our workouts don’t give me that one hour of reprieve from my head anymore.  It’s always there, I always feel it.  A friend asked me today if I can ever forget about it during my day.  I can’t.  I try quite often not to dwell on it, but it is always there. 

So I will keep doing my best to be strong and positive, but mind you it is hard work.  But, I am used to working hard and pulling a lot of weight when it seems like I can’t pull anymore.  I can’t promise I will do it without those damn tears, but I will keep pulling that weight even when more plates are thrown on.  Like Coach’s sound words of encouragement today after I noted that the weight was heavy today after pulling a couple warmup reps.  Without missing a beat he said, “For somebody else it is!”  So I guess the weight isn’t more than I can handle. I just have to load up, set my back and pull.  Somehow you can always stand up with more weight than you ever thought you could.  So, cancer, throw as many plates on as you want.  I can still stand up with it!

2 responses »

  1. Whoever said being strong and positive is all about getting through everything with a smile and a light heart? That’s a load of baloney women have been sold and we continue to buy it. (Just like “girl pushups”, right?) And we feel bad about ourselves if we don’t live up to it. It undermines the strength that exists in all of us.

    Being strong and positive – it’s about being intentional and not giving up. That doesn’t always look or feel pretty – or easy. But it’s a heck of a lot better than being fake or helpless. Helpless you are not, girl! More real – can’t imagine how you could be that either. Thanks for being you and sharing your journey with the rest of us.

Leave a comment